IISE Engineering Economy (EE) Division Industry Practitioner Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in industry practice of engineering economy (EE) concepts. The objectives of the award are to show appreciation to the industry practitioners of IISE who are outstanding in implementing EE concepts and techniques, as well as encourage practitioners, via recognition possibility, to raise standards in the practice and dissemination of EE concepts in engineering.

Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility criteria are listed as follows:

  • The candidate must be a member in the IISE EE division
  • The candidate should have industry experience in EE or related areas for at least three years

Application Process

The candidate can be nominated by a colleague within his/her own company, or outside of their organization. The following documents should be included in the nomination package:

  • A one-page reflective statement by the individual being nominated, to include the impact of how the individual’s work has influenced other people in the company or in the industry within the area of Engineering Economics
  • At least two letters of support; at least one of the letters must be from a current or former co-worker or client
  • Examples of projects that the candidate has applied engineering economy tools, techniques and/or software in industry practice for which the candidate is being recognized
  • Curriculum vitae of the candidate

Evaluation Criteria

The award committee may use the following criteria to rank the award candidates and choose the winner::

  • Leadership: Demonstration of leading excellence in industry practice of EE concepts
  • Application of EE concepts: Demonstration of the value through the application of EE concepts in industry (this criterion will consider the statements from references)
  • Innovation: Use of innovative approaches to implement the principles and practices of EE

Nominations are due by midnight CST Feb. 14, 2024 All of the application documents must be emailed as a single PDF file or a single compressed file to the Raymond Smith.


    • First prize winner(s) will receive a certificate with a hardback cover at the Engineering Economy (EE) Division townhall meeting at the 2024 Annual Conference.
    • Second and Third prize winners will receive a digital certificate and be recognized at the EE townhall meeting at the 2024 Annual Conference
    • First, second, and third prize winners will be recognized on the EE webpage and in the EE newsletter
    • First, second, and third prize winners will be recognized in ISE magazine.


    • Submissions due by Feb. 14, 2024
    • Winner(s) Notification due by Mar. 24, 2024

    2021 Winner

    Moufid Dardas
    Hydro One

    Engineering Economy Division page