Industrial and Systems Engineers honored at international conference

NORCROSS, Ga. – May 25, 2022 – The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) held its first in-person Annual Conference & Expo in three years – held May 21-24 in Seattle – giving attendees a chance to honor the profession’s best and brightest with live ap­plause and appreciation.

IISE’s top award, the Frank & Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering Award, went to IISE Fellow and long-time member Rajan Batta. “I am extremely grateful and humbled to receive IISE’s Gilbreth award,” Batta told ISE magazine. “Having spent my entire aca­demic career at the University at Buffalo, I believe that my receiving this award is a testament not just to myself, but also to its Industrial and Systems Engineering Department and its deeply supportive culture of encouraging scholarly excel­lence.”

The Gilbreth award is sponsored by The Wm. Michael Barnes ’64 Department of Industrial and Systems Engineer­ing at Texas A&M University and recognizes those who have distinguished themselves through contributions to the welfare of mankind in the field of industrial engineering.

The Captains of Industry Awards went to Tony Blevins of Apple, Alexis DePree of Nordstrom and Gregory Hyslop of The Boeing Co. The awards are presented to business or gov­ernment leaders who successfully used industrial engineering in the workplace.

The Class of 2022 IISE Fellows included members who have made significant, recognized contributions to industrial engineering.

  • Ben Amaba, Clarifai
  • Amarnath (Andy) Banerjee, Texas A&M University
  • Barrett Caldwell, Purdue University
  • Grisselle Centeno, Florida Polytechnic University
  • Trevor Craney, Collins Aerospace
  • Brian Denton, University of Michigan
  • Sandra Eksioglu, University of Arkansas
  • Nagi Gebraeel, Georgia Tech
  • George Huang, University of Hong Kong
  • Qiang Huang, University of Southern California
  • Sagar Kamarthi, Northeastern University
  • Steven Kiester, Bell Textron
  • Azad Madni, University of Southern California
  • Maria Mayorga, North Carolina State University
  • Zhijian Pei, Texas A&M University
  • Tiffany Sargent, Intel
  • Rupy Sawhney, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
  • Paul Stanfield, North Carolina A&T University
  • Kevin Taaffe, Clemson University
  • Joan Wagner, Spirit AeroSystems

For more on IISE’s 2022 honors and awards winners, visit Details on IISE’s awards program are available at

About IISE: The Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers is the world’s largest professional society dedicated solely to the support of the industrial engineering profession and individuals involved with improving quality and productivity. Founded in 1948, IISE is an international, nonprofit association that provides knowledge, training, networking opportunities and recognition to enhance the skills and effectiveness of its members, customers and the profession. For more information about IISE, visit