Energy Systems (ES) Division Outstanding Young Investigator Award

This award recognizes IISE Energy Systems (ES) Division members under the age of 35 for their technical contribution to energy systems.

Eligibility requirements

  • Must be a member of IISE and the ES division.
  • Must be under 35 years of age as of Feb. 10, 2023.
  • High impact research as evidenced by the quality of the nominee's research endeavors including publications, intellectual property and other funding and dissemination activities.

Application process

  • Candidates must be nominated by others. Self-nominations are not allowed.
  • Nominations are due by Feb. 10, 2023, 5 p.m. Eastern time.
  • Email the nomination package (as a single PDF file) to the Outstanding Young Investigator Award competition chair:  Benjamin Leibowicz.

    Nomination package must include

    • Candidate’s name, affiliation, contact information and birth date.
    • Candidate’s personal statement describing specific technical contributions that qualify them for this award (max. 2 pages).
    • Curriculum vita (max. 10 pages).
    • Three letters of recommendation (each limited to 2 pages). They should include one from the nominator highlighting the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements.
    • Nominator’s name, affiliation, and contact information.

    A committee chaired by an appointed member of the ES Division board will review all applications following the division’s award evaluation procedures.

    Recognition Process (first place only)

    • Certificate provided by IISE.
    • Recognition at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo:
      • at the ES town hall meeting
      • in Honors and Awards program
      • before the Tuesday morning keynote address
    • Recognition in ISE magazine
    • Recognition on ES website and in the newsletter


    Nomination deadline: Feb. 10, 2023, 5 p.m. Eastern time
    Winner notified: March 11, 2023

    For questions, please contact Brian Charles.

    2022 Winner

    Michael Craig
    University of Michigan

    2021 Winner

    Sayanti Mukherjee
    University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

    Past winners
    Energy Systems Division Page