IISE Modeling and Simulation (M&S) Outstanding Practioner Award

This award recognizes the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) members for excellence in the practice and application of Modeling & Simulation (M&S). It is presented each year at the IISE Annual Conference.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate must be a member of the IISE and the M&S Division.

Application Process:

The candidate can be nominated by a colleague within or outside the nominee’s organization. The following materials should be provided to support the nomination:

  • Cover letter
  • Three letters of recommendation that attest to the nominee's accomplishments, including one from the nominator, one from a co-worker, and one from a client.
  • Summary of the individual's contributions to the practice of M&S and materials that support those contributions.
  • Curriculum Vitae of the candidate.
  • A one-page reflective statement by the candidate.

All application documents must be e-mailed as a single PDF file to the IISE M&S Division’s Director of Awards at tarun.gupta@wmich.edu.

Nominations are due by midnight EST on March 1, 2024. The winner will be notified by March 24, 2024.

Evaluation Criteria

The awards committee will consider the following criteria in selecting the award recipient.

  • Value – the tangible and intangible benefits, relevance, and impact resulting from the candidate's achievements
  • Innovation – development and application of means to enhance the use of M&S
  • Leadership in the profession and the practice of M&S


  • First prize winner(s) will receive a certificate with a hardback cover at the M&S townhall meeting at the 2024 Annual Conference.
  • Second and Third prize winners will receive a digital certificate and be recognized at the M&S townhall meeting at the 2024 Annual Conference
  • First, second, and third prize winners will be recognized on the M&S webpage and in the M&S newsletter
  • First, second, and third prize winners will be recognized in ISE magazine.
  • If the award has a sponsor, then a monetary prize may also be presented. If a monetary award is made, the donor will be recognized.


  • Nominations are due by: March 1, 2024.
  • Winner notified by: March 24, 2024. 

2023 Winner

Travis Hill
Mississippi State University