IISE Honors & Awards Honorees

IISE presidents each presented various categories of awards throughout this year's virtual Annual Conference & Expo May 22-25. Click on the links to view their presentations:

President-elect Amanda Mewbornhttps://youtu.be/krLwsqejBYc

President Bopaya Bidanda – Honors & Awards Ceremony Monday evening, May 24https://youtu.be/YzOgkrhKDFI

Immediate Past President David Poirier https://youtu.be/Rr8bnm3dbnk

Click here for more information about awards and winners.

2021 Honorees

Albert G. Holzman Distinguished Educator Award

Paul Cohen                        
North Carolina State University

Award for Technical Innovation in Industrial Engineering

Sponsored by Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Systems at UCF
Kaibo Liu                        
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Captains of Industry Award

Tim Cook, Apple

David F. Baker Distinguished Research Award

Soundar Kumara                       
Pennsylvania State University

Fellow Award

  • Oguzhan Alagoz, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Dean Athanassiades, Philips Healthcare
  • Salil Desai, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Nabil Nasr, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Bryan Norman, Texas Tech University
  • Robert Pudlo, FedEx Ground
  • Iris Rivero, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Hui Yang, The Pennsylvania State University

Frank & Lillian Gilbreth Industrial Engineering Award

Sponsored by The Wm. Michael Barnes '64 Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Texas A&M University 
Mark Daskin               
University of Michigan

George L. Smith International Award for Excellence in Promotion of Industrial Engineering Award

Satish Bukkapatnam
Texas A&M University

Graduate Research Award

Kyle O'Brien                        
University of Louisville

Honorary Member

Subir Chowdhury                        
ASI Consulting Group

Innovation in Education Competition

  • 1st place: Chase Rainwater and Manuel Rossetti, University of Arkansas
  • 2nd place: Kamran Paynabar, Georgia Institute of Technology

IISE/Joint Publishers Book-of-the-Year

Thorsten Wuest, West Virginia University

Amit Sinha, De­loitte Consulting

Ednilson Bernardes, West Virginia Univer­sity

Rafael Calderon, Deloitte Consulting

Dr. Hamed K. Eldin Outstanding Early Career IE in Academia Award

Sponsored by Integrated Technology Systems
Feng Ju

Arizona State University

Pritsker Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • 1st place: Christopher Lourenco, Texas A&M University
  • 2nd place: Temitayo Ajayi, Rice University
  • 3rd place: Ashif Sikandar Iquebal, Texas A&M University

SEMS Outstanding Management Achievement in Industrial and Systems Engineering Award

Tarun Mohan Lal

Navicent Health

James W. Barany Student Award for Excellence

  • 1st place: Kara Combs, Wright State University
  • 2nd place: Ricardo Ramon Rangel Gonzalez, Virginia Tech
  • 3rd place: Kim Blankenhorn, Texas A&M University