Energy Systems (ES) Division Best Student Paper Award

This award recognizes student members whose paper and presentation in the Energy Systems Track at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo both represent the highest level of excellence.


  • Must be a student member of IISE and the ES division.
  • Finalists will present their papers in the ES division town hall meeting.
  • Finalists must be able to attend the IISE Annual Conference & Expo, May 18-21, 2019, in Orlando, Florida.

Application process

  • Candidates must indicate their intent to enter the competition via email to the ES track chairs: Dr. Sandra Eksioglu and Zhi Zhou.
  • The notification email must include: 1) student’s full name; 2) academic affiliation; 3) abstract ID.
  • A paper can be entered into both the “Energy Systems Track Best Paper" award and the “Energy Systems Best Student Paper Award” competition.
  • Intention notifications are due by Feb. 15, 2019, 5 p.m. Eastern time.

Evaluation Process

  • All competing papers are subject to a double-blind review process by a panel of three judges.
  • Three finalists will be invited to present at the ES town hall meeting.
  • The winning paper will be selected based on a combined score of paper and presentation.

Recognition process (first place only)

  • Framed certificate provided by IISE.
  • Recognition at the Annual Conference & Expo:
    • at the ES town hall meeting
    • before the Tuesday morning keynote address
  • Recognition in the ISE magazine
  • Recognition on the ES website and in the newsletter 


Intention notification deadline: 5 p.m. eastern time, Feb. 15, 2019
Finalists notified: March 15, 2019

For questions, please contact Bonnie Cameron.

2018 Winners

1st Place:
Modjtaba Dahmardeh
Rutgers University
"Characterization of Lithium-ion Battery Model Uncertainty for Effective Battery State-of-charge Estimation"

2nd Place:
Saeedeh Abbasi
University of Houston
"Robust Optimization on Power System Restoration Following a Hurricane"

3rd Place:
Mario Aboytes-Ojeda
University of Texas at San Antonio
"Modeling and Optimization of Biomass Quality Variability in Biofuel Production"

Energy Systems Division page