Energy Systems (ES) Division Outstanding Young Investigator Award

This award recognizes IISE Energy Systems (ES) Division members under the age of 35 for their technical contribution to energy systems.

Eligibility requirements

  • Must be a member of IISE and the ES division.
  • Must be under 35 years of age as of Jan. 15, 2024, the candidate must born after Jan. 15, 1989.
  • High impact research as evidenced by the quality of the nominee's research endeavors including publications, intellectual property and other funding and dissemination activities.

Application process

  • Candidates must be nominated by others. Self-nominations are not allowed.
  • Nominations are due by Feb. 1, 2024, 5 p.m. Eastern time.
  • Email the nomination package (as a single PDF file) to the award chair, Bolun Xu, using the subject title: IISE ESD YIA - [Candidate Name].

Nomination package must include

  • Candidate’s name, affiliation, contact information and birth date.
  • Candidate’s personal statement describing specific technical contributions that qualify them for this award (max. 2 pages).
  • Curriculum vita (max. 10 pages).
  • Three letters of recommendation (each limited to 2 pages). They should include one from the nominator highlighting the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements.
  • Nominator’s name, affiliation, and contact information.

A committee chaired by an appointed member of the ES Division board will review all applications following the division’s award evaluation procedures.


  • Recognition at the ES Town Hall Meeting at Annual Conference
  • Certificate provided by IISE (either mailed or given at the town hall meeting) for the winner.
  • Recognition in ISE magazine
  • Recognition on ES webpage and in the newsletter


Nomination deadline: Feb. 1, 2024, 5 p.m. Eastern time
Winner notified: Feb. 15, 2024

For questions, please contact Amy Straub.

Conflict of Interest Policy

Societies and divisions must follow standard conflict of interest guidelines. Those guidelines include, but are not limited to:

  • Officers and Board members of the Division should be ineligible for awards during the period of their service, without approval by the Senior VP for Technical Operations (SVP). Exceptions may only be made by the SVP when awards are time sensitive, and the impacted board member(s) or officer(s) must recuse themselves from the award process. For awards that are not time-sensitive, the nominee should wait until their Officer or Board service is complete to be nominated.
  • The awards committee (or judging committee) should not include members who have either a personal or professional relationship with the nominees. For example, a faculty member should not be judging a paper competition where a participant from the same university is a nominee for best paper award.
  • The awards committee (or judging committee) should actively change its membership on a rotating basis from year to year to ensure fairness, equity, and diversity. That is, some members of the judging committee should roll off the committee and new members should roll on.

2023 Winner

Bolun Xu
Columbia University

2022 Winner

Michael Craig
University of Michigan

Past winners
Energy Systems Division Page