IISE Operations Research (or) Division Undergraduate Student Research Dissemination competition

Sponsored by Iowa State University, Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering and Rochester Institute of Technology, Industrial and Systems Engineering Department

This award recognizes scholarly work as well as ability to communicate results effectively from an undergraduate student or student teams. This award will encourage more participation from undergraduates in research and in division-level activities. Furthermore, since the award includes a presentation to decide the winner, students are encouraged to improve both their written and technical presentation skills. Engagement will encourage student members to become regular members beyond graduation.

The application process will consist of a paper followed by a presentation. The first author of the paper must be an undergraduate student at the time of submission, and though the work may contain faculty authors, it must be predominantly the work of a student or student team. Graduate student co-authors are encouraged. The paper must present original research, the research must have been conducted while the applicant was a student, and the paper must not have won or been considered for an award in another competition.

The application process will follow the timeline of the proceedings paper submissions. When applicants submit their proceeding abstract they must email the Operations Research division, requesting that their paper be considered for the award. Then they submit their proceeding paper through the usual ISERC process.

Finalist students must attend the IISE Annual Conference & Expo, May 22-May 25, 2021, ALL VIRTUAL, to participate in the finals.

Applicants should submit their papers to Lei Fan to be considered for the award when they submit their proceeding abstracts. Accepted abstracts submit their proceeding papers through the usual ISERC process.

Paper evaluation guidelines


Submission deadline: Nov. 15
Full paper deadline: Jan. 24, 2021
Finalists notified: March 5, 2021

If you have any questions, please contact Bonnie Cameron.

2020 Winners

1st Place:
Brady Collea
Rochester Institute of Technology
"Efficient Algorithms for Unrelated Parallel Machine Scheduling Considering Time of Use Pricing and Demand Charges"

2nd Place:
Connie Feinberg and Amrita Malur
North Carolina State University
"Modeling Spontaneous Volunteer Convergence using Agent-based Simulation"

3rd Place:
Kalina Scarborough
University of Tennessee - Knoxville
"Identifying a Minimal Set of Sensors to Predict Soil Moisture in Real-time in Green Infrastructure"

Past winners

Operations Research Division page