IISE Manufacturing and Design (M&D) Division Best Student Paper Award

This award recognizes excellence in the conference proceedings under the M&D Division whose primary contributor is a student member of IISE and the Manufacturing and Design Division and encourages students to present their paper at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo. The M&D Division will sponsor the registration for the recipient of the 2023 Best Student Paper Award.

Eligibility requirements

  • The lead and presenting author must be an IISE student member and a member of the M&D Division at the time of the abstract submission.
  • Remain a member through the presentation at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo in New Orleans, La., May 20-23, 2023 (may go from student to professional).
  • The lead author has submitted a full conference paper by the full paper deadline and registered for the IISE Conference & Expo by the presenting author registration deadline.
  • The work submitted is clearly distinct from: 1) any work nominated for an award in another IISE division or society in the current year by any of the authors; and 2) any work previously published by any of the authors.
  • The lead author has not previously won the M&D Division Best Student Paper Award in the previous two years.

Note that presentation of the work by the lead author at the IISE Conference is a condition of the award, and failure to do so it grounds for rescinding the award.

Nomination process

The faculty/PI of the student should complete the nomination form and submit it to David Vance, no later than 5 p.m. ET Feb. 19, 2023.


The winner will be recognized at M&D Town Hall meeting M&D website, newsletter, ISE magazine and social media outlets.

Important dates:

Submission deadline for full length paper: Feb. 19
Submission deadline for nomination form: Feb. 28

If you have any questions, please contact Amy Straub.

2022 Winner

Maede Maftouni, Bo Shen, Andrew Law and Raphael Wang
Virginia Tech
"Automatic Melt Pool Segmentation and Tracking in the X-ray Image Sequence"

2021 Winner

1st Place:
Liangkui Jiang
Iowa State University (ISU)
"Modeling and Experimental Validation of Droplet Generation in Electrohydrodynamic Inkjet Printing for Prediction of Printing Quality"

Past winners

Manufacturing and Design Division page