IISE Engineering Economy division Teaching Award

This award is to recognize and promote the outstanding teaching of Engineering Economy.

Eligibility requirements

  • The candidate must be a member of IISE.
  • The course for which he/she is being recognized must be an engineering economy course within an engineering or similar program.
  • Course materials for which they are being recognized must have been developed and taught by the candidate for at least three times or more.

Nomination process

Nominations may be made by a faculty colleague, a student who has taken the course from the candidate or himself/herself. The nomination package must consist of the following:

  • Three letters of support; at least one of the three letters must be from a faculty member in the same academic department and one from a student who enrolled and completed the course.
  • Course syllabus and supporting items such as samples of different instructional materials used.
  • Summary copies (at three) of teaching evaluations for the course he/she is being recognized.
  • Curriculum Vitae of the candidate.
  • A one-page teaching statement and philosophy by the individual being nominated.

All supporting documents in the nomination package should be submitted in PDF format. Deadline for nominations is Feb. 10, 2023. Please email the entire package either as a single PDF file to TBD . The winner will be notified by March 15, 2023.

Evaluation process

The application will be evaluated on a five point scale (1 = minimum, 5 = maximum) on the following (weighting in parentheses):

  • Innovation in teaching content and delivery methods (40 percent).
  • Broader impacts on engineering economy teaching, such as papers, presentations and panel discussions at IISE and ASEE meetings (30 percent).
  • Teaching evaluations from students (30 percent).

Submit nominations to Mehmet Bayram Yildirim immediate-past president of the EE division for full consideration. The winner will be notified no later than March 15, 2023.


  • Recognition at the Annual Conference:
    • at the EE Town Hall Meeting
    • in Honors and Awards program
    • before the final day keynote address
  • Certificate provided by IISE (either mailed or given at the town hall meeting) for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners.
  • 1st Place winner receives a complimentary ticket to the Honors and Awards banquet.
  • Recognition in ISE magazine
  • Recognition on EE webpage and in the newsletter

For questions, please contact Amy Straub

2022 Winner

Mario Beruvides
Texas Tech University

2021 Winner

Aimee Ulstad
Ohio State University

Past Winners

Engineering Economy Division Page