IISE Logistics and Supply Chain (LSC) Division Student Case Competition

Sponsored by the Logistics and Distribution Institute (LoDI) at the University of Louisville

The Logistics and Supply Chain (LSC) Division of IISE invites nominations for its annual Student Case Competition. Any team with three to five student members can participate in the competition to showcase their problem-solving capability and analytical skills on a related LSC case. The winning teams in each category of the competition will be recognized at the LSC Town Hall Meeting to be held at the upcoming IISE Annual Conference & Expo, May 18-21, 2024, Montreal, Canada.

The sponsor for the 2024 competition is the Logistics and Distribution Institute (LoDI) at the University of Louisville. In each category, first place winners will receive $250, second place winners will receive $150, and third place winners will receive $100.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Teams must consist of three to five members for undergraduate student teams; and two or three members for graduate student teams. Teams of up to five members with a mix of undergraduate and no more than three graduate students are allowed, and they will participate in the graduate category.
  • All team members must be IISE members and belong to the LSC division.
  • Team members should be from the same institution (but can be enrolled in different disciplines).
  • There is no limit on the number of teams competing from the same institution.
  • The teams must demonstrate an innovative use of logistics and supply chain concepts in the analysis of the case.
  • IISE LSC student board members and faculty advisors who are directors or officers serving on the IISE LSC board during submission are ineligible.

The teams can be nominated by a faculty advisor or self-nominated. The following documents will be required from each participating team:

  • One-page contact information including names, email addresses, university name and department information for all of the members of the team highlighting the contact person for the team. Also indicate if the team is formed by undergraduate or graduate students.
  • A 4-page “memo” describing the analysis, procedure and results for the case.

Case Information

Teams will work on the case “Supply chain network design to support biofuel production.” The case and data files can be downloaded through this link.


  • Undergraduate and Graduate Winners:
    • First Place: $250
    • Second Place: $150
    • Third Place: $100
  • Recognition at the LSC Town Hall Meeting at Annual Conference
  • Certificate provided by IISE (either mailed or given at the town hall meeting) for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners.
  • Recognition in ISE magazine
  • Recognition on LSC webpage and in the newsletter


The application is due Feb. 12, 2024, by 11:59 PM Pacific Time. All application documents must be emailed as a single PDF file to iiselscawards@gmail.comto the attention of the LSC Division Awards Co-Directors by the contact person of the team for full consideration. There is no application fee. Winners will be notified by Mar. 24, 2024

For any questions, please contact the LSC Division Award Co-Directors Mohamed Awwad and Tanveer Hossain Bhuiyan or Amy Straub at IISE.

Conflict of Interest Policy

Societies and divisions must follow standard conflict of interest guidelines. Those guidelines include, but are not limited to:

  • Officers and Board members of the Division should be ineligible for awards during the period of their service, without approval by the Senior VP for Technical Operations (SVP). Exceptions may only be made by the SVP when awards are time sensitive, and the impacted board member(s) or officer(s) must recuse themselves from the award process. For awards that are not time-sensitive, the nominee should wait until their Officer or Board service is complete to be nominated.
  • The awards committee (or judging committee) should not include members who have either a personal or professional relationship with the nominees. For example, a faculty member should not be judging a paper competition where a participant from the same university is a nominee for best paper award.
  • The awards committee (or judging committee) should actively change its membership on a rotating basis from year to year to ensure fairness, equity, and diversity. That is, some members of the judging committee should roll off the committee and new members should roll on.

2023 Winners

Graduate Level

1st Place:
Jannatul Shefa, Md Sazid Rahman, and Dewan Maisha Zaman
University of Arkansas

2022 Winners

Graduate Level

1st Place:
Matthew Walters, Rajon Paul Pantha and Dhiraj Pokhrel
University of Arkansas

Past Winners

Logistics and Supply Chain Division Page