iise Sustainable Development Excellence in Teaching Sustainability Award


The Sustainable Development Division recognizes the contribution of an individual advancing the knowledge and practice of sustainability in the field of industrial engineering. The winner will be presented at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo May 20-23, 2023, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Eligibility of participants and nomination package

Nominations may be made by a faculty colleague or a student who has taken the course from the candidate. The nomination package must consist of the following:

  • Letters of support from the nominator and two other individuals; at least one of the three letters must be from a faculty member and one from a student who enrolled and completed the course.
  • Course syllabus and supporting items such as samples of different instructional materials used
  • Summary copies of teaching evaluations for the course he/she is being recognized
  • Curriculum Vitae of the candidate
  • A one-page teaching statement and philosophy by the individual being nominated

Evaluation criteria

  • Leadership: Demonstration or fostering leadership and excellence in the teaching of sustainability principles and tools.
  • Individual excellence: Evidence of promoting and enhancing student education for sustainability.
  • Design and content quality: The relevance of the course content to educating the target audience.
  • Applied learning: The development and use of materials to empower students to apply and implement sustainability principles through the use of games, hands-on simulations, assignments, projects.
  • Innovation: Use of innovative techniques and approaches to teach the principles and practices of sustainability.
  • Student satisfaction: Evidence that teaching of sustainability concepts are of value to students, organization and community as shown in the course evaluations and testimonies from students.


  • Submissions: Feb. 22, 2023
  • The winner will be notified by March 15, 2023

Nominations can be submitted to Greg Weisenborn, Jeremy Rickli, Andres Esteban Acero Lopez or Jake Hale.

Questions about the award can be directed to Greg WeisenbornJeremy RickliAndres Esteban Acero Lopez or  Jake Hale.

Past winners

Sustainable Development Division page