IISE/Arena Student Simulation Competition 2022

Fall session registration is now open for the 28th annual IISE/Rockwell Undergraduate Student Simulation Competition.

Teams of three IE undergraduate students solve a real-world situational case study using the Rockwell Automation simulation package, Arena. This case study is prepared by Rockwell. Student team members and their faculty advisers are not required to be members of IISE to enter the competition, but they will become IISE members, for one year, if they are one of the three teams selected to compete at the finals courtesy of Rockwell Automation.

General rules, guidelines and eligibility:

  • Teams of three undergraduate students (plus an adviser) are given approximately eight weeks to develop their solutions.
  • Three finalist teams are selected to present their solutions for final judging at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo.
  • Any student that has been a member of a first place finalist team is no longer eligible to participate in future competitions. Any team that includes a first place winner from previous years shall not be considered for the finalist round of competition.
  • Each finalist team will receive $1,250 USD. for travel expenses to the finals, plus complimentary conference registration, complimentary tickets for the Honors & Awards Banquet and a framed certificate.
  • Winners are announced at the honors and awards ceremony.
  • To broaden contest participation, we will again, administer two eight-week sessions during this academic year.
  • A Fall session will take place from October to first week of December 2021.
  • Teams can sign up to compete in the Fall session.
  • All submissions from the Fall and Winter sessions will be judged together in Spring 2022.
  • The top three finalists from the entire year’s submissions will be announced in early April 2022.

Additional cash prizes are also awarded to competitors based on their finishing position

  • First place: $5,000 USD to the team plus $500 to the team's chapter
  • Second place: $2,500 USD to the team plus $250 to the team's chapter
  • Third place: $1,500 USD to the team plus $250 to the team's chapter

Participate in the Fall session

Deadline to enter the Fall session: Sept. 30, 2021

Submit one online entry form per team with payment information for the $30 entry fee. This fee is non-refundable. If paying by check, send completed entry form and payment to:

Attn: Bonnie Cameron
3577 Parkway Lane
Suite 200
Norcross, GA 30092

The Student Simulation Competition is sponsored by Rockwell Automation and Arena Simulation Software.

Questions? Contact Bonnie Cameron at (770) 349-1102.

2021 Winners

1st Place: Team ETS
Ecole de Technologie Superieure
Team members: David Mach, Martin Provencher and Leonore Jean-Francois
Faculty advisor: Jean-Francois Boulet

2nd Place: RAM
Universita Carlo Cattaneo LIUC
Team members: Andrea De Santi, Melissa Mobosco and Riccardo Stuppi
Faculty advisor: Giovanni  Luca Pirovano

3rd Place: BU Bearcats
Bhinghamton University
Team members: Craig Campbell, Steven John and Robert Nicosia
Faculty advisor: Daehan Won

Past Winners