Engineering Economy (EE) Wellington Award

The Wellington Award recognizes outstanding long-term contributions and service in the field of engineering economy that enhance the visibility of the engineering economy division of IISE. The Wellington Award is limited to individuals that have made significant contributions to the field of engineering economy. The award is named after Arthur M. Wellington, author of The Economic Theory of Railroad Location, in 1887.

Eligibility and Criteria

Original contributions to the profession:

  • Publications (articles, books, monographs)
  • Research (theoretical development, methodological innovation)
  • Standardization (notation, methods, formats)

Recognition of service to the profession:

  • Leadership in organizations (as officer, editor, program chair, committee chair, etc.)
  • Involvement in organization activities (professional organizations, private industry, government, development of new organizations, etc.)
  • Contribution to the profession (book reviews, case studies, bibliographies, abstracts, interest tables, calculating devices, etc.)
  • Length and quality of service

Application of engineering economy:

  • Application of engineering economy
  • Proper application of principles
  • Scope and importance of application
  • Originality
  • Presentation


Email an electronic letter of nomination (with any supporting information available) to Raymond Smith by Feb. 14, 2024. Questions may be directed to the same address.

The eligibility is determined by a four-member selection panel. Whenever possible, academia, government and private industry will be represented in the panel, with the immediate past division director as the fourth member. Each appointed member shall serve a three-year term. Terms will be staggered with one member being replaced annually.

The selection panel will be responsible for:

  • Identifying and selecting potential recipients.
  • Preparing the description of the service or achievements for which the award is being presented.
  • Notifying the recipient in sufficient time to allow attendance at the annual conference.
  • Preparing the news release announcement to be sent to appropriate media outlets.

The award will be announced at the 2024 IISE Annual Conference & Expo. The winner will be notified March 8, 2024.

2021 Winner

Sarah Ryan
Iowa State University

Wellington Award Past Winners 

Engineering Economy Division Page