Quality Control and Reliability Engineering (QCRE) Division best Student Paper Competition

The Quality Control and Reliability Engineering (QCRE) division of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE) is sponsoring a student paper competition as part of the IISE Annual Conference & Expo, May 20 – 23, 2023, in New Orleans, Louisiana. The purpose of this competition is to honor outstanding papers in the field of quality and/or reliability engineering research and practice. Awards will be presented at the QCRE town hall meeting during IISE Annual Conference & Expo. The winners will be acknowledged in the QCRE newsletter and the website. New for this year: the suitable finalist papers are eligible to be recommended for the “fast track” review process at the INFORMS Journal of Data Science (IJDS).

Eligibility Criteria

Both undergraduate and graduate students are invited to submit papers. Advisers or professors are allowed to be co-authors but not the primary author. The following conditions apply to submissions for this competition:

  • The paper topic must fit the QCRE themes.
  • The applicant must be a full time student at the time of submission.
  • The student must be the first author. The student must be the first author. Moreover, a formal, signed statement by the student’s advisor must be submitted along with the paper affirming that the majority of the original results presented in the paper are due to the student’s efforts rather than the advisor or other collaborators involved in the work. See submission form.
  • The paper must present original research results and cannot be accepted for publication elsewhere at the time of submission (it can, however, be submitted and/or under review for possible publication at the time of submission for this competition).
  • The paper must not have won or been considered for an award in another competition.
  • The first author (i.e., the student) must be an IISE QCRE member and be able to present the paper in the QCRE track at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo.
  • Primary authors will be asked to sign an ethics statement stating that they are full time students, that the research and writing are their own work, and that the work has not been accepted for publication elsewhere (see submission form).
  • Previous finalists who wish to compete again should submit an entirely different paper. Past winners are not eligible for the competition.

Important Notes

  • Papers submitted for this competition will NOT be published in the ISERC proceedings.
  • IISE and the QCRE division do NOT own the copyrights of the papers submitted for this competition. However, the papers must be available to the QCRE division to be posted on their web page.

Formatting and submission guidelines

  • Papers must be 8-12 pages (1-inch margins, single column, single-spaced, 12 point font, and Times New Roman) and must begin with a 250-word abstract. The submitted paper must follow the format or will be returned without review.
  • Entrants must submit a blinded and unblinded version of the paper along with a formal signed statement from the student’s advisor, all in electronic format (.PDF files ONLY) to both coordinators: Dr. Dan Li and Dr. Xiaowei Yue by February 24, 2023. Late or incomplete submissions will be ineligible for the competition.
  • All submitted papers will be reviewed and ranked by the reviewer committee and four finalists will be selected and announced in April, 2023.


Submission deadline: February 24, 2023
Finalists' Announcement: April 2023

Competition Coordinators

Dr. Dan Li (dli4@clemson.edu), Clemson University
Dr. Xiaowei Yue (xwy@vt.edu), Virginia Tech

2020 Winner

Cheoljoon Jeong
North Carolina State University
"Two-dimensional Variable Selection and Its Applications in the Diagnostics of Product Quality Defects"

Past Winners

QCRE Division Page