Lean Division Best Practice Past Competition Winners

2019 Winners

Not awarded

2018 Winners

1st Place:
Alberto Rodriguez Perales and Rodo Baldo Banda Sepulveda
Jabil Circuit Co., De Chihuahua, Mexico
"Family Medical Care Services"

2017 Winners

Joint 1st Place:
Chanchal Saha and Warren Boldrin
IBM Coroporation
"Predictive Order Advisor:  Integrating Lean Techniques with Analytical Modeling for Customer Order Management"

Joint 1st Place:
Heidi Arnold
Indiana University Health North Hospital
"Improving Mammography Workflow and Throughput to ease Staff Efforts and Serve More Patients"

2nd Place:
Jason Sammut
Firstronic LLC
"Single pass process for Printed Circuit Board Assemblies with Double Sided Soldering Requirements"

2016 Winners

1st Place:
Nikhil Pal, Roland Tang and Sanjeeve Verma
Jabil Circuit Singapore Pte. Ltd.
"Lean Culture Transformation - Next Level"

2nd Place:
Emmanual Joseph and KW Chang
Jabil Circuit Penang, Malaysia
"Solder Dross Recycling Process Optimization"

3rd Place:
Sreekanth Ramakrishnan and Michael Testani
IBM Corporation
"Integrating Lean and Agile Practices to Accelerate Change Efforts"

2015 Winners

1st Place:
Lynne Smith, Lauren Hudspeth and Jessica Hoffman
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
"Investment Workflow: An Innovative Application of Lean in Philanthropy"

2nd Place:
Sean Roche and Ken McClannon
Nypro Healthcare, Ireland
"Development of a New Nypro Healthcare Manufacturing Facility"

3rd Place:
Csilla Papp and Aron Mark Bobvos
Robert Bosch Power Tool Kft., Hungary
"Let's Make it Lean! Lean Transformation as the Key Success Factor for Sustainable Growth"

2014 Winners

1st Place:
Jack Chen and Yufeng Xu
Jabil Co.
"Manufacturing Process Optimization Program"

2nd Place:
Paula Liotine and Mark Nash
American Fidelity Assurance
"Creating a Lean Culture in the Insurance Industry"

3rd Place:
Sabina Gerard
Tata Consultancy Services
"Herculean - The Innovative Lean Deployment Program"

2013 Winners

1st Place:
Hemantha Perera and Lalith Herath
MAS Linea Aqua
"Manufacturing Practices for Operational Excellence in the Apparel Industry"

2nd Place:
Parviz Kheirkhah and Lucy Moyer
MD Anderson Cancer Center
"Pharmacy Go Lean: An Initiative in Lean Culture"

3rd Place:
Julie Sisson and Joe Giorgianni
Harris Corporation
"Implementing Lean Supplier Pull Systems via Supplier Portal

2012 Winners

1st Place:
Ron Phipps, The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
"The Lean Journey at MD Anderson's Labs"

2nd Place:
Mark Nash, Pelco Products Inc.
"Manufacturing Warehouse Conversion to a Lean Pull System"

3rd Place:
Chris Nelson and Keith Rigoni, BAE Systems Inc.
"A Lean transformation in Material Handling"

2011 Winners

Joint 1st Place:
Sudhendu Rai and Cyndi Quan-Trotter; Xerox Corp.
"Lean Document Production: A Simulation-based Methodology for Optimizing Print Shops"

Joint 1st Place:
Sreekanth Ramakrishnan, Warren Boldrin and Michael Testani, IBM
"Sustaining a Lean Transformation in Complex Server Assembly and Test Organization"

2nd Place:
Joseph Ogabi, Triumph Aerostructures, Vought Aircraft Division
"Integrating Lean and Six Sigma Principles to Reduce WIP Inventory"