U.s. Southeast Region

Welcome to the U.S. Southeast Region of IISE, which includes the states of Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida and Puerto Rico. The Southeast Region currently consists of three professional chapters and 16 student chapters representing a total of 1,082 professional IISE members and 818 student members.

The mission of our region is to provide a connection point to facilitate IISE member networking, participation in educational offerings and involvement in IISE leadership opportunities.

Regional Vice President - Dean Athanassiades

Dean AthanassiadesDean Athanassiades is regional vice president (RVP) of the Southeast Region. Your regional vice president is your most valuable resource and establishes priorities for your region.

Dean Athanassiades leads a Program Management Office at Philips. He has over 30 years’ experience improving organizational results by applying industrial engineering principles. Dean is also a faculty member at the University of Phoenix. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Industrial Engineering from Georgia Tech, an MBA, a Master’s degree in Industrial-Organizational Psychology, and a Master’s Certificate in LEAN Six Sigma. Dean is a former President and Diplomate of the Society for Health Systems, a Fellow of the Institute for Industrial and Systems Engineering, and a Fellow of Healthcare Management and Systems Society. He holds Project Management Professional, Certified Professional Healthcare Information Management Systems, and Certified Scrum Master certifications.

Chapter Management


U.S. Southeast Region

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico

This region includes the following professional chapters:

  • Atlanta
  • Greater Miami
  • Central Florida

There are IISE student chapters at 14 colleges and universities in the region:

  • Auburn University 
  • Florida A & M University/Florida State University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology 
  • Inter-American University of Puerto Rico
  • Louisiana State University 
  • Louisiana Tech University 
  • Mercer University 
  • Mississippi State University
  • Polytechnic University - Puerto Rico
  • Southern Polytechnic State University
  • University of Alabama - Huntsville 
  • University of Central Florida 
  • University of Florida 
  • University of Miami 
  • University of Puerto Rico
  • University of Turabo IISE Chapter (Puerto Rico)
  • University of South Florida