Keynote Speakers

Be stimulated and inspired by ergonomics leaders and experts during the keynote presentations. Keynote speakers will present their unique perspectives on the latest breakthrough ergonomics developments in healthcare, government, military and safety.

Tuesday, March 26

William S. Marras, Ph.D., CPEWilliam S. Marras, Ph.D., CPE
The Ohio State University

William S. Marras holds the Honda Chair in the Department of Integrated Systems Engineering at The Ohio State University. As director of the university’s Spine Research Institute, he also holds joint academic appointments in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, the Department of Neurosurgery, and the Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation.

His research is centered on understanding multidimensional causal pathways for spine disorders through quantitative epidemiologic evaluations, laboratory biomechanical studies, personalized mathematical modeling, and clinical studies of the lumbar and cervical spine. His findings have been published in over 250 peer-reviewed journal articles, hundreds of refereed proceedings, and numerous books and book chapters including a book “The Working Back: A Systems View.” A former editor-in-chief of Human Factors, Marras is currently deputy editor of Spine. He has also recorded a TEDx talk “Back Pain and your Brain,” and was featured on NPR’s All Things Considered.

With Fellow status in six professional societies including the American Society for the Advancement of Science, Marras has been widely recognized for his contributions through numerous national and international awards including two Volvo Awards for Low Back Pain Research and an honorary Sc.D. degree. He has served on over a dozen boards and committees in the National Research Council including chair of the Board on Human Systems Integration for multiple terms. Marras is past president of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society and is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Wednesday, March 27

Join us for two presentations from influential leaders in ergonomics at Wednesday’s keynote presentation, AEC Aspire Talks.

A new addition to the Applied Ergonomics Conference, AEC Aspire Talks are designed to share learnings, achievements and innovational aspects of ergonomic programs in powerful 25-minute segments. AEC Aspire Talks are inspired by the popular TED Talks, geared toward audiences staying engaged while retaining relevant information. Your presenters are:

2019AECKeynote_LeeSangHyun Lee, Ph.D.
University of Michigan

As professor and John L. Tishman Faculty Scholar at the University of Michigan, SangHyun Lee leads the Dynamic Project Management Group. He is also founder of Kinetica Labs that provides markerless motion capture for ergonomic risk assessment. His research aims to improve occupational safety and health through sensing, data analytics and computer simulation.

Lee, who holds an M.Sc. and Ph.D. from MIT, served on the board of governors for the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Construction Institute, chaired the ASCE Construction Research Council and the ASCE Visualization, Information Modeling, and Simulation Committee and held five editorship positions in leading journals.

His accolades include the Tom Waters Award, the ASCE Daniel W. Halpin Award for Scholarship in Construction, the ASCE Thomas Fitch Rowland Prize, the FIATECH Outstanding Early Career Researcher Award, the Construction Industry Institute Distinguished Professor Award, and the Henry Russel Award – the highest honor the University of Michigan bestows upon junior faculty – as well as eight best paper awards from leading journals and conferences. He has over 180 peer-reviewed articles, two patents, two books and one startup company.

2019AECKeynote_PetersonDonald R. Peterson, Ph.D.
Northern Illinois University

Donald R. Peterson is the current chair of the ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Committee F48 on Exoskeletons and Exosuits. A tenured professor of mechanical engineering and the dean of the College of Engineering and Engineering Technology at Northern Illinois University, Peterson is also a joint professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station and a fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

With a master’s in mechanical engineering and a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from the University of Connecticut, Peterson has over 25 years of experience in biomechanical engineering and medical research with a focus on measuring and modeling injury biomechanics and human, organ, and/or cell performance, including exposures to various physical stimuli and the subsequent biological responses. His research on the investigation of injury mechanisms and human-device interaction has led to the generation of new technologies and systems, such as personal protection technologies, occupational exoskeleton systems, robotic assist devices for hemiplegic rehabilitation, long-duration biosensor monitoring and reporting systems, novel surgical and dental devices and instruments, smart medical devices for home patient care and biotechnology systems.

His research also involves hand-arm vibration exposures and he serves as a U.S. delegate on the International Standards Organization Technical Committee (ISO/TC) 108/SC4 on Human Exposure to Mechanical Vibration and Shock. Peterson has published over 115 peer-reviewed scholarly works and is the editor-in-chief of The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, published by CRC Press, and the journal Bioengineered, published by Taylor and Francis.