IIE leadership update

New officers, board members take posts in societies and divisions 

From staff reports

A number of IIE’s societies and divisions have elected or appointed new officers for 2013-2014.

Society for Health Systems

SHS voted Ronald T. McDade, assistant vice president for performance improvement at MedStar Health, president-elect. New directors on the board are Ashley Benedict, a senior industrial engineer for the New England Veterans Engineering Resource Center (Department of Veterans Affairs), and Dean Athanassiades, a senior director of project services for Philips Healthcare.

Lean Division

The new president-elect for the Lean Division is Tina Agustiady, a continuous improvement leader for BASF. New members of the division’s board of directors are Andres Carrano, associate professor and director of the Toyota Production Systems Lab at the Rochester Institute of Technology; Michelle Chang, a master black belt for Memorial Hermann Healthcare System; Michael Testani, a business transformation and learning consultant for IBM; and Maya White, a project engineer 3 for Memphis Light Gas and Water Division.

Society for Engineering and Management Systems

Wiljeana Glover, assistant professor in the Technology, Operations, and Information Management Division of Babson College, is the new president-elect for SEMS. New directors are Cecilia Martínez León, assistant professor in engineering management at Clarkson University; Brian K. Smith, assistant professor at Missouri University of Science and Technology; and Edson Pinheiro de Lima, professor of operations and technology management at Pontifical Catholic University of Parana, Brazil.

Process Industries Division

Martin Stein, vice president of Competitive Capabilities International, has been appointed president-elect. Ran Jin, an assistant professor at Virginia Tech, has been appointed secretary.

Logistics and Supply Chain Division

Three members were appointed to the board of directors: Maria Carolina Diaz, a supply chain process engineer for Office Depot Inc.; Dincer Konur, assistant professor at Missouri University of Science and Technology; and Mingzhou Jin, associate professor and associate department head at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

Operations Research Division

Maria Mayorga is the new president-elect. She is an associate professor at Clemson University. The division also has two new directors for its board: Dan Bumblauskas, an assistant teaching professor at the University of Missouri, and John Dulin, a continuous improvement engineer for Enterprise Ventures Corp.

Computer and Information Systems Division

Members of the CIS Division selected John Jung-Woon Yoo, an assistant professor in the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering and Technology at Bradley University, as president-elect. New board directors are Gerald Knapp, associate professor at Louisiana State University, and Hui Yang, assistant professor at the University of South Florida.

Work Systems Division

Ed Pound, COO of Factory Physics Inc., became president-elect.

Engineering Economy Division

The Engineering Economy Division has a new communications director in Isaac Faber, an instructor/analyst at the U.S. Military Academy. Joe Hartman, professor and chair of the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the University of Florida, is now a member of the Wellington Award Committee, while Steve Hsueh Ming Wang, associate professor at the University of Alaska Anchorage, is a new member of the division’s board.

Mingzhou Jin, associate professor and associate department head of industrial and systems engineering at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville, is now an editorial board member for The Engineering Economist.

Construction Division

Al Attah has been appointed president of the division. Attah is president of MACVAL Associates LLC in Dallas. Isabelina Nahmens, an assistant professor at Louisiana State University, has also been appointed to become president-elect.

Quality Control and Reliability Engineering Division

Haito Liao has won the division's vote for president-elect. Liao is an associate professor in the systems and industrial engineering department at the University of Arizona. Jian Liu and Kamaran Paynabar have also been elected as board directors. Liu is an assistant professor at the University of Arizona. Paynabar is an assistant professor at Georgia Tech.