Society for Engineering and Management Systems (SEMS) Student Paper Competition Winners


First place: Sarah Asio and Sasan Khorasani
Texas Tech University
"Social Media: A Platform for Innovation"

Second place: Fernando Gonzalez Aleu and Heather Keathley
Virginia Tech
"Design and Application of a Meta-Evaluation Framework"

Third place: Andrea Lopez, Sofia Garcia and Maria Eugenia Rendon
Universidad de Monterrey, Mexico
"Eliminating Seven Transportation Wastes to Increase Customer Service Level"


First Place: Yasser Shaban, M. Aramesh, S. Yacout, M. Balazinski, H. Attia, H. A. Kishawy
Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Canada
"Optimal Replacement of Tool during Turning Titanium Metal Matrix Composites"

Second Place: Luis Garza-Gomez, Denisse Leon-Vilarreal and Ricardo Alfaro-Carrizales
Universidad de Monterrey, Mexico
"Increase Routing Efficiency to Achieve Distribution Leagility"

Third Place: Ivonne Guerra-Trevino, Maribel Larrodes-Casasus and Rebeca Capetillo-Leal
Universidad de Monterrey, Mexico
"Integrating a Food Supply System for a Group of Restaurant Enterprises"


First Place: Victoria Andrea Cabrera, Leticia Ceballos and Lorena Tamez
Universidad de Monterrey
"An Agile Distribution Strategy for Improving on Time Delivery"

Second Place: William Gillis, Missouri University of Science and Technology
"Understanding the Design Impacts Among LEED Certification Credits"

Third Place: Carl Kirpes, Iowa State University
"Systems Engineering Application in an Engineering Design Build Firm"


First Place: Akkarapol Sa-Ngasoongsong – Oklahoma State University
"Long-Term Demand Prediction Using Long-Run Equilibrium Relationship of Intrinsic Time-Scale Decomposition Components"

Second Place: Patrick Garner – University of Pittsburgh
"Complexities in the Operating Room"

Third Place: Bhanuchander Poreddy and Benjamin Daniels – Missouri University of Science and Technology
"Mathematical Model of Sub-System Interactions for Forward Operating Bases"

(from left) Dr. Altyn Clark, Chief Solutions Officer at TSI; Dr. Marta C. Wilson, CEO at TSI; Akkarapol Sa-Ngasoongsong,1st place; Patrick Garner, 2nd place; Bhanuchander Poreddy, 3rd Place; Dr. Garry Coleman, Executive Vice President at TSI 

The awards were formally presented during the 2012 IIE Annual Conference and Expo in Orlando.


First Place: Mengqi Hu – Arizona State University
A Study on Medical Imaging Equipment Productivity and Utilization 

Second Place: Shrikant Jarugumilli – Missouri University of Science and Technology
Integrated Workforce Planning Considering Regular and Overtime Decisions 

Third Place: Kiran Rangarajan – Missouri University of Science and Technology
Cost Analysis of Renewable Energy-Based Microgrids for Rural Energy Management 

SEMS Student Paper Competition 2011 Winners