IISE Operations Research (OR) Division Teaching Award

Annual Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Operations Research

The OR division of IISE presents an annual national award recognizing excellence in teaching operations research. The award will be presented at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo May 19-22, 2018 in Orlando, Fla.

Eligibility criteria

  • The candidate must be a member of IISE
  • The candidate should be nominated for the instruction of an undergraduate course in operations research methods or applications. The course must be offered as part of an academic program in Engineering or Management (i.e., Industrial Engineering, Systems Engineering, Engineering Management, or Civil Engineering, or Management Science among others). Examples of course titles for the nomination may include “Operations Research”, “Linear Programming”, “Optimization Methods”, “Simulation”, “Production Systems”, “Linear Optimization”, “Decision Analysis”, etc.
  • Course materials for which they are being recognized must have been developed by the candidate

Nominations may be made by a faculty colleague or a student who has taken the course from the candidate. The nomination package must consist of:

  • Table of contents
  • Letters of support from the nominator and two other individuals; at least one of the three letters must be from a faculty member and one from a student.
  • A course syllabus and supporting items such as samples of different instructional materials used.
  • Summary copies of teaching evaluations for the course being recognized.
  • Curriculum vitae of the candidate.
  • A one-page reflective statement by the individual being nominated.

All supporting documents in the nomination package should be submitted in PDF format. Please email the entire package either as a single PDF file or a single compressed/zipped file to Dr. Hugh Medal by March 16.

Important dates

Nomination deadline: March 16
Winner notification: March 21

If you ever had a great OR instructor in college, this is your chance to recognize this individual! 

2017 Winner

Amir Ali Ahmadi and Georgina Hall
Princeton University

2016 Winner

Murat Kurt
University at Buffalo

Thomas Sharkey
Pensselaer Polytechnic Institute

2015 Winner

Baski Balasundaram
Oklahoma State University

2014 Winner

Erick Moreno-Centeno
Texas A&M University

2013 Winner

Alex Savachkin
University of South Florida

Previous winners 

Operations Research division page