iise Operations Research (or) Division Undergraduate Student Research Dissemination competition

This award recognizes scholarly work as well as ability to communicate results effectively from an undergraduate student or student teams. This award will encourage more participation from undergraduates in research and in division-level activities. Furthermore, since the award includes a presentation to decide the winner, students are encouraged to improve both their written and technical presentation skills. Engagement will encourage student members to become regular members beyond graduation.

The application process will consist of a paper followed by a presentation. The first author of the paper must be an undergraduate student at the time of submission, and though the work may contain faculty authors, it must be predominantly the work of a student or student team. Graduate student co-authors are encouraged. The paper must present original research, the research must have been conducted while the applicant was a student, and the paper must not have won or been considered for an award in another competition.

The application process will follow the timeline of the proceedings paper submissions. When applicants submit their proceeding abstract they must email the Operations Research division, requesting that their paper be considered for the award. Then they submit their proceeding paper through the usual ISERC process.

Finalist students must attend the IISE Annual Conference & Expo, May 19-22, 2018 in Orlando, Fla. to participate in the finals.

Applicants should submit their papers to Katie McConky to be considered for the award when they submit their proceeding abstracts. Accepted abstracts submit their proceeding papers through the usual ISERC process.

Paper evaluation guidelines


Submission deadline: Nov. 8
Finalists notified: Feb. 16, 2018

If you have any questions, please contact Bonnie Cameron.

2017 Winner

Danika Dorris
University of Tennessee, Knoxville

2016 First place winner

Benjamin Rachunok
North Carolina State University