iise Sustainable Development Excellence in Teaching Sustainability Award


The Sustainable Development Division recognizes the contribution of an individual advancing the knowledge and practice of sustainability in the field of industrial engineering. The winner will be presented at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo May 19-22 in Orlando, Florida.

Eligibility of participants and nomination package

Nominations may be made by a faculty colleague or a student who has taken the course from the candidate. The nomination package must consist of the following:

  • Letters of support from the nominator and two other individuals; at least one of the three letters must be from a faculty member and one from a student who enrolled and completed the course.
  • Course syllabus and supporting items such as samples of different instructional materials used
  • Summary copies of teaching evaluations for the course he/she is being recognized
  • Curriculum Vitae of the candidate
  • A one-page teaching statement and philosophy by the individual being nominated

Evaluation criteria

  • Leadership: Demonstration or fostering leadership and excellence in the teaching of sustainability principles and tools
  • Individual excellence: Evidence of promoting and enhancing student education for sustainability
  • Design and content quality: The relevance of the course content to educating the target audience
  • Applied learning: The development and use of materials to empower students to apply and implement sustainability principles through the use of games, hands-on simulations, assignments, projects
  • Innovation: Use of innovative techniques and approaches to teach the principles and practices of sustainability
  • Student satisfaction: Evidence that teaching of sustainability concepts are of value to students, organization and community as shown in the course evaluations and testimonies from students.


  • Submissions: Feb. 24
  • The winner will be notified by March 10

Nominations can be submitted to Diana Berry.

Questions about the award can be directed to Diana Berry.

2017 Winner

Craig Just
University of Iowa

2016 Winner

Gregory Weisenborn
Fort Hays State University

2015 Winner

Brian Thorn
Rochester Institute of Technology

2014 Winner

Gregory Unruh
George Mason University

Sustainable Development Division