The Lean Division Best Practice Competition

The Lean Division of IISE is launching its annual industry best practice award and welcomes applications from organizational teams for the Lean Division Best Practice Award 2018.

The Lean Division Best Practice Award recognizes organizations for innovative and effective implementation of lean principles and practices that deliver exemplary business performance improvement. IISE will conduct the award competition to promote successful implementation of lean by recognizing best in class industries and sharing their stories with others. This is a very prestigious award for a team and their industry.

The award will be bestowed to the top three teams and be presented at the IISE Annual Conference & Expo 2018, May 19-22 in Orlando, Fla.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any team, two or more members, of any organization who want to showcase their successful implementation of lean concepts
  • The team must demonstrate innovative uses of lean tools and techniques for its measurable outcomes
  • There is no limit on the number of entries from an organization

Awarding Process

  • All entries will be pre-screened to select up to four finalist teams
  • All finalist teams will be required to attend the IISE Annual Conference & Expo and present their cases
  • Top three teams will be selected and announced at the Honors & Awards Banquet of the IISE Annual Conference & Expo

Evaluation Criteria

  • The lean implementation initiative is innovative
  • The lean implementation initiative has clear measurable performance objectives and they were met
  • The lean implementation approach is simple and straightforward
  • The lean implementation initiative used lean tools and techniques
  • The lean implementation initiative derived significant and measurable outcomes such as cost reduction, lead time reduction, quality improvement, safety improvement, etc.
  • The lean implementation is sustainable (show at least six months of sustained or improved metrics)
  • The quality of the presentation is excellent including problem statement, clear descriptions and metrics with visuals

Submission Process

To provide necessary detail and ensure consistency in judging, prepare the narrative portion of the entry according to the respective requirements on the submission form. The narrative document must be a maximum of five standard pages using a minimum font size of 12 points and single spaced. Supporting materials or samples may be included if they are directly applicable to your entry, however, they will not be returned. Applicants may also include support letters from the top management highlighting the scope, impact and sustainability of the lean project.

Entries Should Include

  • A completed submission form (download form) Submission Form 
  • Any relevant supporting materials
  • Credentials of team members
  • Support letter from top management

The complete application package due date has been extended. It is due to the chair of the committee by Feb.28. Applicants must send their submissions electronically – preferably as an email attachment. In case of large electronic documents, applicants may upload them in an online repository (i.e. DropBox) and provide the access to the chair of the committee. Finalists will be notified by March 6. Submit your applications to the committee chairs.

2018 Committee Chairs

MD Sarder
Bowling Green State University

Sishil Shetty
Wilsonart LLC

Bindu Tambraparni
Humana Inc.

2017 Winners

First Place:
Chanchal Saha and Warren Boldrin
IBM Coroporation
"Predictive Order Advisor:  Integrating Lean Techniques with Analytical Modeling for Customer Order Management"

Heidi Arnold
Indiana University Health North Hospital
"Improving Mammography Workflow and Throughput to ease Staff Efforts and Serve More Patients"

Second Place:
Jason Sammut
Firstronic LLC
"Single pass process for Printed Circuit Board Assemblies with Double Sided Soldering Requirements"

2016 Winners

First Place:
Nikhil Pal, Roland Tang and Sanjeeve Verma
Jabil Circuit Singapore Pte. Ltd.
"Lean Culture Transformation - Next Level"

Second Place:
Emmanual Joseph and KW Chang
Jabil Circuit Penang, Malaysia
"Solder Dross Recycling Process Optimization"

Third Place:
Sreekanth Ramakrishnan and Michael Testani
IBM Corporation
"Integrating Lean and Agile Practices to Accelerate Change Efforts"

Past Winners 

Lean Division Page