National Science Foundation Student Travel Grants 

We are pleased to announce that the National Science Foundation (NSF) will award travel grants to selected students attending the 2016 Industrial and Systems Engineering Research Conference (ISERC), part of the IIE Annual Conference & Expo, being held in Disneyland Resort Hotel, Anaheim, California, May 21-24. This announcement outlines the award selection criteria and application procedure.

1. Any student enrolled in a U.S.-based university is eligible to apply for the grant.
2. All student awardees must register for the conference and are required to attend the conference.
3. The awarded funds can only be used to support expenses related to attendance at the 2016 ISERC.
4. All student awardees are required to have an accepted abstract for the 2016 ISERC. Among all qualified students, preference will be given to the following students:

  • A student from an ISE department/program that has agreed to share travel expenses for its students planning to attend the conference 
  • A student who will present a paper that has been accepted for publication in the 2016 ISERC proceedings 
  • A student planning to present research supported by an NSF grant 
  • A student close to graduation, i.e., a graduate or undergraduate student in his or her final year 

• Application deadline: March 20, 2016
• Decision notification: April 4, 2016

How to apply:
1. Complete the attached application form, including a recommendation statement from the applicant’s academic advisor, and register for the conference.
2. The application package (including the conference registration receipt) should be saved as a single PDF file and named according to the following format: LastName_FirstName_UniversityName.pdf
3. Email the application file to


EMAIL Subject: NSF student travel grant - LastName_FirstName_UniversityName

Please click here for the National Science Foundation Student Travel Grant Application Form


Each awardee will receive partial financial support in the amount of $500 and a certificate of recognition.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact any of the following ISERC 2016 chairs:

Hui Yang
The Pennsylvania State University

Zhenyu (James) Kong
Virginia Tech

MD Sarder
University of Southern Mississippi

ISERC 2016 Chairs